Let's talk (non-list) store pet values

Discussion about the Pets, Items, Dress-ups, Events, Site, Forum or other CS features!

Let's talk (non-list) store pet values

Postby lil rascal » Wed Jan 08, 2020 3:06 pm

All the threads I see looking to redefine what we call a fair trade are aimed at the higher, ex-list, value pets but the reality is that those trades affect only a small portion of the CS community so I thought it was time we start a discussion about some of the more accessible pets.

The standard advice that a fairly recent retired VR store pet is only worth a '10 rare has always bothered me but even more so after the big rarity update last year.

There are two issues I see with this advice -

First demand wise anyone with experience knows the store pets go for more than a single '10 rare and a lot of people who give this advice wouldn't take that for their own store pets. I have been buying and trading store pets since 2011 and can't think of an occasion where I have ever traded a store pet for a single '10 rare.

Secondly, with the rarity system CS has, how can we justify telling someone that any rare is "worth" a VR store pet? Sure this might be okay advice for one of the rare store pets (though they turn rare because they were in such high demand that many more people wanted and bought them, so maybe not) but with VRs?

I know how this idea came into being, the people giving advice were basing it off the pets C$ value but those values state it is for a rare or VR, yet when translating it to store pets people decided to drop the VR part and just say they were worth a rare. Also C$ values just don't translate to pet values like that, otherwise we'd be able to trade for a non (worth 1050C$) with as few as 21 early '09 rares (worth 35-50C$ each). So why do we try to translate a retired store pets C$ value into pets like this?